Civic Theatre Announces Re-Opening, Fall Line-up
7.17.2013

Who says summer and early fall are slow in New Orleans? The past month alone has been a banner month for venue openings, especially landmark theatre re-openings. With the re-opening of the Joy and Saenger Theatres, downtown is certainly seeing a theatre renaissance. Now, one of the city’s oldest theatres, the oldest in fact as its new website boasts, the Civic Theatre in the Central Business District (CBD) confirmed its official re-opening and released its Fall 2013 concert schedule this week.

Built in 1906, the historical Beaux Arts style stageplay theatre nestled tightly between Poydras and Lafayette Streets on the 500 block of O’Keefe Avenue had been closed for some 30 years until this year. It was recently renovated and has hosted a select series of soft opening concerts and events since Janaury. However, the Civic Theatre launches its official re-opening season this fall with a full line-up of both classic and contemporary artists. Acts from The Black Crowes to alt-country hero and Treme music star Steve Earle stand out alongside highlights like progressive UK electronic artist Bonobo, New Orleans’ own Galactic and even a comedic Christmas variety show from cult filmmaker John Waters.

Civic Theatre Fall 2013 Schedule:

Friday, September 27: Russell Brand

Tuesday, October 1: The Black Crowes

Wednesday, October 2: The Black Crowes

Friday, October 11: Passion Pit

Monday, October 14: Black Rebel Motorcycle Club

Wednesday, October 16: JJ Grey & Mofro

Wednesday, October 23: Steve Earle

Tuesday, October 29: The Waterboys

Wednesday, October 30: 2 Cellos

Thursday, October 31: Galactic

Tuesday, November 12: Bonobo (live)

Thursday, November 14: Jamey Johnson

Tuesday, December 10: John Waters

The Civic Theatre of New Orleans
510 O’Keefe Ave. (map)
Neighborhood: CBD
Advance Tickets Here
More Info: www.civicnola.com